The Fondation Médicale acquires a pediatric nasolaryngoscope for the Laurentian Hospital

orl

The Fondation Médicale des Laurentides et des Pays-d’en-Haut and the McDonalds of the North group, which produced the local McHappy Day, worked together for the purchase of a pediatric nasolaryngoscope for the Laurentian Hospital in Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts.

 This device, worth approximately $10,000 and designed for use with children, will allow laryngoscopies to be performed. Doctors will be able to do examinations of the throat, larynx (also called the voice box) and vocal cords. It is used mainly for throat or ear pain that doesn’t go away, voice problems like hoarseness, voice weakness, swallowing difficulties, breathing problems, etc.

Special request

“Upon the special request from Dr. Stéphane Roberge, who also practises at the Saint-Jérôme hospital, the Fondation Médicale accepted to invest in the purchase of this device. Before its acquisition, children had to go the Saint-Jérôme hospital. Now they can have these examinations in Sainte-Agathe. It’s a plus for the families in our area,” explains the executive director of the Fondation, Daniel Desjardins. “This equipment will be welcome at the Laurentian Hospital.”

This initiative is another step in achieving the Fondation’s intervention plan for better local services. The Fondation Médicale’s mandate is to intervene directly in the communities to fill their needs for healthcare equipment.

“The money raised during the 2017 McHappy Day has allowed for the purchase of more than $45,000 worth of equipment for the health of the children of our region. This year’s event will be held on May 2, again for the benefit of the Fondation Médicale. Note the date on your calendar,” concludes Mr. Desjardins.

La Fondation médicale fait l’acquisition d’un nasolaryngoscope pédiatrique pour l’Hôpital Laurentien

orl

La Fondation médicale des Laurentides et des Pays-d’en-Haut et les artisans locaux du Grand McDon, les McDonalds du Nord, ont uni leurs efforts pour faire l’acquisition d’un nasolaryngoscope pédiatrique pour l’Hôpital Laurentien de Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts.

 Cet appareil, qui est destiné aux enfants et dont le coût est estimé à 10 000$, permet de pratiquer une laryngoscopie. Les médecins peuvent observer ainsi le fond de la gorge, le larynx (aussi appelé boîte vocale) et les cordes vocales. On l’utilise notamment pour les douleurs à la gorge ou à l’oreille qui ne disparaissent pas, les troubles de la voix comme une voix enrouée, une voix faible, des difficultés à avaler, des troubles respiratoires, etc.

Demande spéciale

« C’est à la demande du Dr Stéphane Roberge, qui pratique aussi à l’Hôpital de Saint-Jérôme, que la Fondation médicale a accepté d’investir dans l’achat de cet appareil. Avant l’achat de cet appareil, les enfants devaient se rendre à l’Hôpital de Saint-Jérôme. Maintenant, ils peuvent le recevoir à Sainte-Agathe. C’est un plus pour les familles de notre région », explique le directeur général de la Fondation, Daniel Desjardins. « C’est un équipement qui sera le bienvenu à l’Hôpital Laurentien. »

Cette initiative s’inscrit, encore une fois, dans le cadre du plan d’intervention de la Fondation concernant les services de proximité. La Fondation médicale s’est donnée comme mandat, rappelons-le, d’intervenir directement dans les communautés pour combler leurs besoins en matière d’équipements de la santé.

« En terminant, il ne faut pas oublier que le montant amassé lors du Grand McDon 2017 a permis d’acheter plus de 45 000$ d’équipements destinés à la santé des jeunes de notre région. Cet événement nous reviendra le 2 mai prochain, toujours au profit de la Fondation médicale. Un événement à inscrire à votre agenda », conclut M. Desjardins.